California’s Retail and Commercial Future with Legal Marijuana

If California legalizes marijuana in 2016, her citizens will have to decide a number of important questions as to the nature of marijuana sale and consumption within her borders. To address this, my writing will focus on questions regarding the potential future existence and regulation of retail point of sale cannabis consumption. Will marijuana be sold exclusively in the classic “dispensary,” with actual consumption of the marijuana allowed only within the privacy of the home, or will there be commercial establishments where cannabis can be bought and consumed socially on premises, similar to a bar serving cigars or alcohol? I will explore contemporary examples of point of sale consumption in Colorado and Washington, and how the interplay between local zoning laws and state and municipal smoking bans could affect the existence of similar businesses in California. All told, I intend my writing to illuminate the difficult choices Californians will need to make about their state’s future societal and commercial relationship with legal marijuana.

My name is Philip Brody, and I’m a current 3L at Santa Clara University School of Law. More importantly, I’m a native Californian who loves and cares about the future of my state. We Californians will have a number of very important electoral decisions to make in 2016, with marijuana legalization being among them. Through the Drug Law and Policy Project, I hope to provide a practical envisioning of what forms a future California could take with safe, legal marijuana.

Comments are closed.