Is Stoned Driving the New Drunk Driving?

Driving under the influence of marijuana is a criminal offense in California and will continue to be even if marijuana is legalized. Washington and Colorado, the first two states with legalized cannabis, have established laws that create a presumption of intoxication if a driver is tested for 5 nanograms of THC per millimeter of blood or higher. Although this style of law mimics DUI enforcement, it may not actually be the best practice. The active ingredients in alcohol and marijuana vastly differ in their variety and effect, and biological tests for marijuana intoxication are rife with accuracy issues. In an effort to establish best practices for testing and the laws that should apply, I will be writing a set of articles that will analyze the laws and testing procedures surrounding marijuana intoxication. Once the best procedures for testing are established, I will review various products designed to test marijuana intoxication for their accuracy, fairness, and feasibility.

My name is Eugene Yoo and I gave up a career in marketing for law school. I did so with the desire to represent people who are unable to afford a lawyer on their own. Since then, I’ve devoted my education and work experience to the issues surrounding inequality and the law. Our nation’s drug policy has always involved these issues, and it is my goal to address the overlooked or difficult subjects in drug reform without boring anyone to death. Wish me luck.

Comments are closed.