Cannabis and Intellectual Property: To © or not to ©, and Other Pressing Questions

My contributions will primarily be analysis of different aspects of intellectual property in a market that has decriminalized cannabis while it remains federally illegal.  Can, and more importantly, should a state furnish intellectual property protections when they are unavailable from the federal government?  California’s possible shift from medical cannabis to recreational cannabis raises many questions about commercial and social costs and benefits to affording these protections.  While attorneys and businesses are largely approaching this topic from the perspective of private players,  my goal is to outline not just the various legal challenges and possible solutions to the concerns of cannabis-oriented businesses but, instead, to point out how a state can balance those private interests with public policy, safety, and health concerns.

I am a law student who studied science for my undergraduate degree. I am focusing on intellectual property law with an emphasis on patent prosecution. I am an associate on the Santa Clara High Tech Law Journal, and I have developed a strong interest in the intellectual property challenges presented to emerging markets and businesses.  Because of the politicized nature of these topics I am writing under a pseudonym, Lucilius, who was a friend and correspondent of one of my favorite writers.

Comments are closed.